Artist Spotlight: Betsy Cooper


Betsy Cooper's comic can be found ever week in the Daily Texan

Betsy Cooper sat on a worn-out old couch in university’s newspaper basement office. The lack of natural lighting forced the over-abundance of fluorescent lights to give her blonde hair a distinct glow.

I’d seen her around Austin before at friend’s concerts and parties, never talking to her too much because she seemed rather quiet. She was still quiet, but this time slightly nervous. Bets admitted she had never really applied for a job as a comics artists; she wasn’t even sure if her articles were funny.

I don’t know how she feels about her comics now, but she’s gone on to have weekly printed comics and do art for friends like the band Little Lo. I hope she enjoys them as much as I do.

    • Carolynn
    • November 5th, 2010

    I like this. And I like Betsy. Everything here is good.

  1. January 4th, 2011

Leave a comment